Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Weight of Blood

A Novel
eBook
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart.
INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS AWARD WINNER AND BARRY AWARD NOMINEE FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE

The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane's mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child. Now on the brink of adulthood, Lucy experiences another loss when her friend Cheri disappears and is then found murdered, her body placed on display for all to see. Lucy's family has deep roots in the Ozarks, part of a community that is fiercely protective of its own. Yet despite her close ties to the land, and despite her family's influence, Lucy—darkly beautiful as her mother was—is always thought of by those around her as her mother's daughter. When Cheri disappears, Lucy is haunted by the two lost girls—the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn't save—and sets out with the help of a local boy, Daniel, to uncover the mystery behind Cheri's death.

What Lucy discovers is a secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and beyond that horrific revelation is a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.

The Weight of Blood is an urgent look at the dark side of a bucolic landscape beyond the arm of the law, where a person can easily disappear without a trace. Laura McHugh proves herself a masterly storyteller who has created a harsh and tangled terrain as alive and unforgettable as the characters who inhabit it. Her mesmerizing debut is a compelling exploration of the meaning of family: the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths to which we will go to protect the ones we love.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

"[An] expertly crafted thriller."Entertainment Weekly, "The Must List"

"Haunting . . . [a] riveting debut."Los Angeles Times

"Laura McHugh's atmospheric debut . . . conjures a menacingly beautiful Ozark setting and a nest of poisonous family secrets reminiscent of Daniel Woodrell's Winter's Bone."—Vogue

"Fantastic . . . a mile-a-minute thriller."The Dallas Morning News

"Gripping . . . Her prose will not only keep readers turning the pages but also paints a real and believable portrait of the connections, alliances, and sacrifices that underpin rural, small-town life. . . . Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy thrillers by authors such as Laura Lippman and Tana French."—Library Journal (starred review)

"The sinister tone builds relentlessly."—The Plain Dealer

"Rich in character and atmosphere . . . This is one you won't want to miss."—Karin Slaughter

"Daniel Woodrell better watch his back. . . . Weight of Blood is a tense, taut novel and a truly remarkable debut. . . . A suspenseful thrill ride that satisfies in all the right ways."BookPage
From the Trade Paperback edition.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Kindle Book

  • Release date: March 11, 2014

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780812995213
  • Release date: March 11, 2014

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780812995213
  • File size: 2560 KB
  • Release date: March 11, 2014


Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:5.7
Interest Level:9-12(UG)
Text Difficulty:4

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart.
INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS AWARD WINNER AND BARRY AWARD NOMINEE FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE

The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane's mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child. Now on the brink of adulthood, Lucy experiences another loss when her friend Cheri disappears and is then found murdered, her body placed on display for all to see. Lucy's family has deep roots in the Ozarks, part of a community that is fiercely protective of its own. Yet despite her close ties to the land, and despite her family's influence, Lucy—darkly beautiful as her mother was—is always thought of by those around her as her mother's daughter. When Cheri disappears, Lucy is haunted by the two lost girls—the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn't save—and sets out with the help of a local boy, Daniel, to uncover the mystery behind Cheri's death.

What Lucy discovers is a secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and beyond that horrific revelation is a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.

The Weight of Blood is an urgent look at the dark side of a bucolic landscape beyond the arm of the law, where a person can easily disappear without a trace. Laura McHugh proves herself a masterly storyteller who has created a harsh and tangled terrain as alive and unforgettable as the characters who inhabit it. Her mesmerizing debut is a compelling exploration of the meaning of family: the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths to which we will go to protect the ones we love.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

"[An] expertly crafted thriller."Entertainment Weekly, "The Must List"

"Haunting . . . [a] riveting debut."Los Angeles Times

"Laura McHugh's atmospheric debut . . . conjures a menacingly beautiful Ozark setting and a nest of poisonous family secrets reminiscent of Daniel Woodrell's Winter's Bone."—Vogue

"Fantastic . . . a mile-a-minute thriller."The Dallas Morning News

"Gripping . . . Her prose will not only keep readers turning the pages but also paints a real and believable portrait of the connections, alliances, and sacrifices that underpin rural, small-town life. . . . Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy thrillers by authors such as Laura Lippman and Tana French."—Library Journal (starred review)

"The sinister tone builds relentlessly."—The Plain Dealer

"Rich in character and atmosphere . . . This is one you won't want to miss."—Karin Slaughter

"Daniel Woodrell better watch his back. . . . Weight of Blood is a tense, taut novel and a truly remarkable debut. . . . A suspenseful thrill ride that satisfies in all the right ways."BookPage
From the Trade Paperback edition.

Expand title description text