Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

In Darkling Wood

by Emma Carroll

eBook

0 of 1 copy available

Place a hold Read a sample Read a sample
For fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, The Secret Garden, and Tuck Everlasting, In Darkling Wood is a spine-tingling novel with a forthright, modern heroine and more than a hint of mystery and magic.

When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother's Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden—but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: what is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction?
★ "A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption."—Booklist, Starred Review
★ "A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[In Darkling Wood] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism."—School Library Journal, Starred Review
"Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending."—Bulletin
"Beautifully drawn, and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native England; this book should win her American fans."-Kirkus Reviews

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: March 14, 2017

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780399556036
  • File size: 3986 KB
  • Release date: March 14, 2017

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780399556036
  • File size: 3986 KB
  • Release date: March 14, 2017

0 of 1 copy available

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

For fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, The Secret Garden, and Tuck Everlasting, In Darkling Wood is a spine-tingling novel with a forthright, modern heroine and more than a hint of mystery and magic.

When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother's Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden—but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: what is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction?
★ "A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption."—Booklist, Starred Review
★ "A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[In Darkling Wood] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism."—School Library Journal, Starred Review
"Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending."—Bulletin
"Beautifully drawn, and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native England; this book should win her American fans."-Kirkus Reviews

Expand title description text